Reporting Live from Mallorca

I’ve been lucky enough to be in front of the camera a few times now. Whether it’s commenting on travel trends on BBC breakfast or Brexit on SKYNews and Bloomberg, but I’ve never been behind the camera. Or as you are about to see, trained to do so.

But last week I was at the Travelzoo Company Meeting at The Park Hyatt in Mallorca. We were lucky enough to have Travelzoo’s own roving reporter Gabe Saglie fly in from LA to host our meeting. Great news for us, because he was brilliant, and for me personally as it saved me the extra stress of having to compare the days’ meeting and Gala dinner.

Come lunchtime, Gabe mentioned that he’s usually up at 3am on Sundays (dedication, right?) to go on Los Angeles TV station – KTLA. As he was with us in Spain, he asked me to record a segment so that he could upload it for them to use that week instead. Despite both of us having had a late night the night before, and not devoid of a few drinks, his presenting skills remain top class. As for my future as a cameraman? Well, it was never really on the cards anyway.


Leave a comment